kathryne goes to france


accents, idiosyncracies, misconceptions
21 May 2007, 9:35 am
Filed under: American culture, europe, exchange student, france, study abroad

According to the Californians, I don’t have an Oklahoman accent at all. I could easily pass for a Californian.

According to my French phonetics teacher, I have a “très fort accent americain” (a very strong American accent).

According to my Dutch friend Sitske, I say the word “humongous” a lot. To the point that when she thinks of a word to represent me, the word is humungous. It’s kind of funny, because I don’t think “humungous” is a very fitting representation.

Who knew?

Sidenote: I finally talked to the two Dutch girls who’ve been in my classes. It turned out that they’re not Dutch, though, they’re Swedish. They thought I was Canadian instead of American. I don’t know why I thought they were Dutch or why they thought I was Canadian… but hey, at least we all guessed countries pretty close to our own, right? It’s going to be weird to go home—where everyone’s from Oklahoma or Texas, where everyone has the same accent, where there’s no guessing where so-and-so’s from. Hm.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

