kathryne goes to france


falling up the stairs
15 February 2007, 7:44 pm
Filed under: bordeaux, college, exchange student, france

What a day I’ve had.

I woke up at 3 a.m. feeling delirious and feverish. Went back to bed, woke up this morning with a cough and an ominously raspy throat.

As I was getting dressed, I discovered a spider the size of a centieme crawling around inside my black ballet flats. I immediately charged him with taking up residence in my shoes and sentenced him to the death penalty. The spider now rests on the bottom of my shoe.

For lunch, I attempted to heat up yesterday’s Dominoes pizza with my turbo-powered European hairdryer. It worked until the power in my room randomly went out, and I ended up eating pizza that was warm on the outside and cool on the inside. I still feel rather ingenious for coming up with that heating technique.

After lunch, I found a note in my mailbox stating that I had received an envelope and needed to pick it up from the dorm’s office. I didn’t have my hopes up—I thought it had to do with the French dorm bureaucracy—but I was overjoyed when Intimidating Receptionist handed me a package with a Norman return address. My friends made me homemade Valentine’s Day cards and sent them across the ocean to me! Mes amis are really wonderful.

I survived the second class of the day and used the restroom afterwards. I ran into Piotr the Polish guy on the way to the computer lab. We awkwardly talked about his upcoming skiing trip to the Alps. As I was walking off, I realized that something weird was going on with my skirt… turns out my skirt was tucked into my underwear. I busted out laughing and kept walking while trying to pull down my skirt to its correct position as discretely and quickly as possible while Piotr laughed and said, “C’est bon, C’est bon!” (It’s good, it’s good!) Fortunately the skirt is long enough to keep me covered even if it’s folded in half. I can’t believe I was that girl: the girl with her skirt tucked into her underwear.

I giggled my way back to the dorms and then realized that I couldn’t find either my key or my phone. I assumed that my phone was locked in my room, but I didn’t know where to look for my key. I checked my door to see if I had left it in the lock. No luck. I was about to search the campus when I thought to check with the office. After a frustrating chat with The Receptionist Who Does Not Speak (the lady has lost her voice and I don’t think it’s ever coming back), she handed me both my phone and my key. I guess I was so excited about the Valentine’s Day cards that I left them on the counter.

Immediately afterwards, I stopped in Jenny’s room to talk to her about doing laundry today. I started to leave when she handed me my phone. I had forgotten it again. Then I tripped up the stairs and broke a fingernail.

I’m surprised that I survived today. Everything feels off kilter and I don’t know why. I don’t think I can blame it on the Sudafed.

I’m sick but I’m still flying to Ireland tomorrow. I hope it goes well. Wish me luck!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey man. so i didn’t know this website existed. too caught up looking at photographs. I’m glad you got the valentines and hope your fever goes down. we can’t have you sick you hear? we all miss you lady, but i’m so glad you’re having a good time, tucked up skirt and all…that is such a me move, that’s why i refrain from skirts 99.9% of the time

Comment by jes

A great family story is on your greatgreat grandmother Ella Hoffman. She went to a very important meeting/banquet. She also went to the bathroom before the WCTU was over. In pulling up the underware, she, also left the bottom hem of skirt tucked into elastic. It wasn’t too long in a crowd of people that she found out her delima. The embarassment lasted a lifetime.

Comment by Virginia Lowrey




Leave a Reply

