kathryne goes to france


je suis une idiote amèricaine
19 January 2007, 5:29 am
Filed under: bordeaux, college, europe, exchange student, france, french culture, study abroad

You’d think that after five years of French, I’d be capable of carrying on a conversation in French. But no, I can’t. We’re all having problems.

While trying to order bottled water:
Give me a box of water, please.
-me

While getting hit on/avoiding a squirrelly looking French guy on the tram:
SLFG: Well… are you married?
me: Yes.
SLFG: Oh, that’s no good.
me: Yes.

Can you aider moi?
-Jenny (to a random French guy. She mixed French and English, turning “Can you help me?” into “can you aider moi?” She received a blank stare in response.)

Mare si.
-Jenny’s Texan version of “merci”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

